Once the gem of Malahide, this 'cottage orné' was probably the most photographed house in the country, especially when the wonderful display of daffodils enhanced its beauty each year and the two pet donkeys ‘Salt’ and ‘Pepper’ gazed over the front gate as depicted in the photo. Built in the late 17th. Century, a major extension was added in 1837. It remained the property of the Malahide Estate until 1927. During much of the19th century it was obviously available for short term lets as evidenced by the number of birth notices which took the form of “At Casino, Malahide, the lady ( later the wife) of E. Bachelor, Esq. A daughter”. In 1887 it was leased from the Talbots to John Dickie of Castlebellingham, Co. Louth. The related Kirker family took it over in 1923 and in the 1950’s made a portion of the grounds available for the building of the Presbyterian church. The periodical re-thatching was done with rye straw, specially grown on the Dickie farm at Mountgorry at the top of the Broadmeadow estuary. The rye was grown and cut to ensure the stalks were of suitable quality and sufficient length. The Kirker family sold the property in 1999 and in 2007 a large number of apartments were constructed in the surrounding grounds. The Casino itself remained vacant and uncared for over many years, suffering serious weather damage to walls and roof. An extraordinarily generous bequest by the late Michael Gaffney set the wheels in motion for Fingal County Council to acquire the property and bring the Fry Model Railway Collection back to Malahide. Major conservation and restoration works were carried out on the Casino itself and the adjoining pavilion was built to house a model railway museum at an overall cost of over €3m. It is again looking resplendent even if the daffodils and ‘Salt’ and ‘Pepper’ are no longer in evidence.